The Return of Sawa

25 02 2009

The Night of Sawa event had it’s second installment in January.  This was a night full of poetry, spoken word, singing, and “hip-hop” performances from Muslims in the Northern VA area.  This is probably the first event I was able to use my DSLR to shoot.  I came up with some shots I really like, holler.

 

Capture That Moment!

Capture That Moment!

Everyone was desperately trying to record someone…doing something…I don’t quite remember what it was anymore.  

Latte or Frappucino?

Latte or Frappucino?

As deeply contemplative as this seems, my cousin was really just trying to figure out what to order off the menu at the Daily Grind Cafe, where the event was held.

Cafe Style

Cafe Style

Rockstar, Raef, orders some hot chocolate.  He’s got a new comic blog up too, check it out.

 

The Debut

The Debut

Ayyaz makes his Sawa debut with some poems he read off of his iPod.  This was before the Jim Jones’, “Ballin”, parody.

 

Peekaboo

Peekaboo

I think this girl’s name was Fatima.  She was my favorite performer from the entire event.  I really enjoyed her poetry.  Rock on 🙂

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

