Shift To Manual

16 10 2008

 

Towards the beginning of 2008, I found a vicious deal on some manual camera sets – fully stocked with lenses and everything.  I’ve been wanting to upgrade to an SLR camera, but digital SLR’s are too expensive, so I decided to go old school and hook it up with some 35mm film SLR;s.  I got the rolls developed and they made digital copies, but the colors are kind of off.  Eventually, I’ll get around to making decent scans of the orginals so I won’t have that problem.  But, for now, these are what I’m using.  

 

This is my first time with a manual camera, so I had to go through a few rolls to really figure out what I was doing.  In the process though, I did end up with some pictures that I really like.  

 

 

Perfection?

Perfection?

Feb 2008

Before I realized I needed filters on my lenses to get colors to turn out right, all my pictures were strangely distorted.  Luckily, this one came out just fine.  My brother shows off his smooth bowling form during a youth group bowling trip to the AMF lanes.  

 

 

Image of the Champ

Imagine the Greats

Feb 2008

Some guys were hanging out in Dahman’s room at 123.  Friends would regularly gather to take a break from studying and school and just relax in his memorabilia-filled room.  The poster on the wall is a picture of Muhammad Ali after knocking out Sonny Liston in the first minute of the first round of a Heavyweight Championship fight.

 

 

Stay Focused

Stay Focused

Feb 2008

I wandered into the library and started taking pictures of people (that I know!).  I found Shrinal trying to do some work, I didn’t realize she was left-handed…

 

 

Shirts & Skins

Shirts & Skins

Feb 2008

My cousin, Shawn, is a huge Redskins fan, as seen by the hat.  This is an example of what happens when you don’t use lens filters to fix the light.  Had to learn the hard way.  It does make for an interesting effect though.  This picture was taken at the Mandarin Halal Chinese Restaurant in Springfield, while we were waiting for our food.

 

 

Camera Battle

Camera Battle

Feb 2008

I was in the library with my camera again and Ali tried to show me up with the camera on his walkman phone.  Sadly, I think he totally owned me, that thing has a vicious camera!

 

 

Uighur!

Uighur!

Feb 2008

Arafat was chillin during a break in an MSA event when I took this.  The Uighur people have an amazing story that everyone should really learn more about, look em up (or click the link).  

 

 

Friyaz

Friyaz

Feb 2008

Farhad was also hangin out during an MSA event at VCU when I took this picture.  

 

 

Motherly

Motherly

Feb 2008

This is probably the first picture I took of my mother using this camera.  The colors are def off because I didn’t use any filters.  You can bet I’ll be taking more soon, we’ll see if there’s any improvement.

 

 

Barackin'

Barackin

Feb 2008

That’s right.  Barack Obama was laying in my bed.  My brother was tryinna sleep and he put the magazine on his face, not realizing how perfectly it lined up…

Actions

Information

One response

20 10 2008
erth

beautiful… love the pictures of everyone and it helps that they are beautiful too… but i had to comment on the obama picture =)

Leave a Reply

